Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm wondering cause I'm thinking of getting one and supercharging it. But the problem is I'm a computer tech/consultant and I drive all over. I really don't want my car blowing up on me. Don't get me wrong, I completely understand there's a risk but just wanted to know what the average experience was.

Thanks

·
Registered
322 Posts
progresr,
I've got to say it's the best thing you can doto those cars. I've got a '00 Steeda Mustang GT w/ a Vortech V2-SQ supercharger. I've currently got 10,000 miles on it and have not a problem. As long as you put 93 octane and run a conservative amount of boost, you'll be alright.

The only real problem I had was when I powershifted 3rd gear for the first time when it had about 2,200 miles on it and the clutch exploded into 4 pieces. That was covered under warranty though. :D

Just remember, 93 octane and no powershifts.

Btw, I'm from Tampa, FL...;) :joy:

·
Registered
493 Posts
Mine has been pretty reliable so far. The problem is the other stuff that breaks as a result of the change in my driving style :evil: , new clutch and new 31 spline axles. I'm waiting for the tranny to go next. :( The T-45's are a time bomb waiting to go off. :barf:

If you don't mind decreased gas mileage, go for it. It is a lot of fun. Just get a good conservative tune and you will be alright.

·
Registered
554 Posts
I concur for the most part. However, at 40k miles I'm starting to see some problems. I still don't think the fuel system is fixed although Steeda tells me with their new fuel pump, they will also supply a new chip with a very conservative tune. However, add $400 plus the cost of the chip to get it right on top of the blower. The fuel pump with the blower is unstable at best but probably alright if you only drive it on the street.