Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought the dorman contour fans from rock auto. The DCC is out of the question. Flex a lite has controllers ranging from $75 to $175. The dakota digital looks good but at $120 plus the $30 relay you need. Then i need to buy all the wiring. Im new at this and want to buy everything i need all at once. My head is spinning someone's gotta point me in the right direction.

·
Registered
4,970 Posts
Flex A Lite controllers are largely junk from what I have tested. They will run your fan, but are poor designs. Their soft start controller is not soft start at all, it is a solid state switch that switches hard. Their PWM controller runs at such a low switch mode frequency it just hammers the fan motor and the electrical system.

If you want one, I have two.

I have not tested a Dakota Digital. I have Derale controllers in my car. One runs my water pump, one runs my fan.

Relays are cheap if you stay away from car parts vendors. I have all the relays you need for about $5 each, or you can buy them from Mouser. You can also get them from McMaster Carr, but more expensive.

I expect the Dakota Digital might possibly be a good unit, but I have not tested one.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Do you have part #'s for the derale?? And is it a complete package or would i need more stuff??

·
Registered
3,203 Posts