Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
439 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just ordered the ON3 67turbo for a 88 GT. My exhaust is H-pipe and Flowmaster 2 1/2. Do I have to change mufflers if yes what mufflers should I get. I would like to keep the same sound as the Flowmasters.

·
Registered
156 Posts
you can buy the on3 y-pipe and use the current flowmasters

or run a single exhaust from the down pipe with one muffler

from what guys say on here a straigt through muffler is going to out perform a flowmaster or chambered muffler, but they can be ran, just turn the knob up if you need more power.
I have a friend running flowmaster knock offs on his turbo 514 without problems

·
Premium Member
1,244 Posts
I read somewhere that the chambered muffler created a resonance wave that can cause havoc on the turbine wheel... BS maybe.. I think it was a at a turbonetics turbo conference back in 2001..

·
Registered
299 Posts
I got a 3" DP into a flowmaster y-pipe into 2-2.5" Pypes racepro straight though mufflers, but I still have the stock dented 2.25" tails with 3" chrome tips. I get beef from my brother all the time on how quiet the car is. I have a pair of flowmaster 2.5 tails that I was going actually put on tomorrow to see if I can get a little more idle out of it. I miss the flowmaster sound that I took off when I went turbo.

No matter what muffler you choose I think it will be quiet. And turbo cars just sound like crap without mufflers. Flowmaster will tell you to just run their muffler 2 sizes bigger than normal with reducers to fit your piping. But I have yet to find somebody with that setup. I don't feel like spending more money to find out. Maybe they should just donate me some and I'll be their spokesman for running them on turbo cars.