Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
257 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I went to Carlsbad on Saturday to run the car. It was my 2nd time ever running and my 1st time with gears & 1st time to Carlsbad (which is a poor conditioned track for those who don't know). I drove right onto the track after just getting off the freeway with a 1/4 tank of gas and a trunk with some luggage in it (I stayed over night in San Diego). I kept the tires at normal pressure.

I got 6 runs in. My best was a 13.688 @ 101.95 MPH with a 2.191 60 FT time

My best MPH was 106.2 MPH which I was happy about.

I had alot of trouble with traction and launching as you can tell by my 60 ft times. Here are the 6 runs:

RUN 1: 2.378 60ft 13.983 @ 101.92 MPH
On this run, I spun / hopped all of 1st out of the hole and then hit my rev limiter shifting from 2nd to 3rd. I am a newbie at this.:)

RUN 2: 2.224 60ft 14.224 @ 101.22 MPH
On this run, my launch was better, but then I missed 3rd gear.

RUN 3: 2.301 60ft 13.896 @ 101.89 MPH
I had a tough time launching. Alot of spinning / hopping. Launching at this track it really tough.:mad:

RUN 4: 2.284 60ft 13.707 @ 106.20 MPH:eek:
I don't know what happened but the car got really strong once I hit 3rd gear and I couldn't beleive I trapped 5MPH higher than before.

RUN 5: 2.223 60ft 13.744 @ 104.01 MPH
By this run, I had learned how to launch better, by slipping the clutch at around 2500 RPM.

RUN 6: 2.191 60ft 13.688 @ 101.95 MPH
I was so pissed... I missed 4th gear which slowed me down. The run felt perfect until I missed 4th. I was hoping for a 13.5. Oh well, next time.

What do you guys think? Keep in mind I am new at this. Why did the car start to pick up MPH so drastically? What do you think the car is capable of? Thanks.

·
Registered
1,584 Posts
Those are good times, I still can't get out of the 2.2 60' times..

I am stock for now and my best run is in my sig..

1/8 is around 8.9 @ 80 MPH.