Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've decided that I can't live without a blower (cough cough) Since I'm just learning about how to get a nice SC set up.. I was wondering what some of the other 4V engine guys were running. What works well, and what doesn't work well? How much is too much on a stock T-45? I've seen prochargers that advertise that they self lubricate, keeping you from having to tap your oil pan. Is this much of an advantage? Is it a pain to change the oil in a super charger of this kind? Also, to anyone's knowledge, is there a kit with a 'roots type' blower out there for '96 Cobras? Thanks for the advice guys.. I know some of you are wizards at tuning in a blown 4.6L!

Oh yeah.. Headers come first.. JBA shorties work well? What else is out there?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've yet to find a 'kit' (includes fuel pump, larger injectors etc) for under $3,300. Price isn't as important to me as a good set up that won't blow my engine. I've heard of too many stories where blown 4V 4.6L drop a piston or two.

·
Registered
152 Posts
LzredCobra said:
Also, to anyone's knowledge, is there a kit with a 'roots type' blower out there for '96 Cobras?
Kenne Bell makes a twin Screw S/C KIT with all the fixins for the 96-98 Cobra http://www.kennebell.net their site is not really up but their contact info is there. I blieve it makes 5-6 psi, and it is great for low end power. They dont make as much peak HP than the ctrif blowers but the power is on tap anywhere in the RPM range (to 6000RPM) I like the power at the low end and I like to be a little different than everybody else. If/when I do an SC I'll prolly go with their system. Although if I find a great deal on a used cetrif. blower I'll prolly go with it, but if I buy new it'll be the KB twin screw blower. my$.02

Alex

·
Registered
480 Posts