Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, im new to turbos. Im planning on doing twins on my built 5.4. Thinking about getting 2x pt5858cea turbos for the engine. But like i said im new to turbos so advice is welcome!! Id like to be about 25-30ish psi

Looking to get into the upper 800hp maybe north of that. Car is a light street car, occasional strip car

Engine is full forged
9.5 to 1cr
Tfs heads
Eddy intake
I need turbo cams
Bunch of other stuff to support over 900hp

Fuel system is already good for 1500, im already running e85, just need supporting injectors for the new hp level

·
Registered
2,166 Posts
Mod Motor? You would easily hit your goals with those Turbos. My advice is to not go huge with Cams for the street so it will spool fast and drive nice. You don't need long duration cams because the Turbos will do the work. Just add Boost..

Another thing is maintenance.. Twins are are the top for coolness, but they're at the bottom for servicing the motor.. Everything will be tight in there so forget about doing quick Plug changes because the Downtubes will probably be in the way. Turbos put off a lot of heat! Be prepared to move Electrical Wiring around to prevent a meltdown. Furthermore, I had a big problem with burning up Plug Wires on the regular, and had to improvise ways to keep the wires from touching the Headers or Downtubes. It will show as lean on the AFR's.. Ceramic Boots like from Accel are the way to go..

Moreover, go with Teflon Hoses for anything oil.. All the heat will dry out regular Braided Lines and they will leak real fast. A hose that was good will then leak everywhere just because you removed it for some reason..