Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does anyone here road race a turbo mustang? even open track days? i know its kinda of a dumb question but im wondering how hot things get and if a turbo car gets unpredictable coming out of the corners.

·
Registered
2,773 Posts
I have 2 turbo mustangs and I can't imagine trying to road race them. The power comes on pretty quick at 3k. Also there is a considerable amount of heat even if you have everything wrapped. I am no expert but I wouldnt be my combo of choice for road race car.

·
Registered
192 Posts
I'm road racing a turbo car, but it's a Thunderbird TurboCoupe. I can't imagine trying to keep a turbo V8 cooled and together. At the LeMons race at Gingerman there was us, a 2.3t Mustang conversion and an XR4Ti (also 2.3t). We were running 9 psi and didn't have any problems. The other 2 were both running 15 psi (the XR4Ti without an intercooler) and both of them blew head gaskets.

steve

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thats what im thinking. i started my build thinking i was just going to build a spring struts car but im going deeper and deeper into brakes and suspension. i might end up ditching the turbo kit now.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Ernesto Roco had a pretty insane turbo setup on his AIX car. I want to say I read they ditched it since it was problematic, but don't quote me on that.

·
Registered
7,633 Posts
i think it's possible but would take some creative tuning to take out allt he nasty torque out of the mid range

·
Registered
1,722 Posts
I would not do it with a non water cooled turbo that is supported of the manifold. But support it & water cool it & I would be (am) tempted.

·
Registered
763 Posts

·
Registered
2,662 Posts