Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im trying to figure out whats wrong with my car. Its an 88 mustang gt 306 speed density car. I just installed a custom 66mm turbo kit. I finally finished it and took it around the block and it smoked blue outta the exhaust. I took the piping and exhaust off the turbo to see if there was any oil in them and there was nothing. Just the turbo was a lil black from when it was used before. Any suggestions on what to look for? Or is it blown turbo seals? Anything i should check before i just take the turbo off and rebuild?

Any help would be greatly appreciated im new to this turbo mustang stuff

·
Registered
107 Posts
How bad is it smoking? I fixed what I thought was simple w a baffled grommet and my problem went away for about a week before it finally started pouring smoke out of the head. Check your compression and plugs. PCV is often a common fix but also a misconception for deeper issue which you don't want to ignore or risk. There's a million ways to setup the PCV is why he says to search.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ya im gona try doing something soon with that. only other thing i could see it being is the turbo. that motor never smoked or leaked a drop of oil before i put the kit on and the car hasnt even seen a mile with the turbo kit and it smoked right away goin down the road

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Make sure your turbo drain line is not kinked, and it is a straight shot to the oil pan. Any odd dips or twists can make the turbo not drain properly.

·
Registered
107 Posts
ya im gona try doing something soon with that. only other thing i could see it being is the turbo. that motor never smoked or leaked a drop of oil before i put the kit on and the car hasnt even seen a mile with the turbo kit and it smoked right away goin down the road