Ford Mustang Forums banner

Turbo Build Help - 331 Stroker w 78/75 On3 Turbo

10K views 32 replies 14 participants last post by  PerformanceAndStyle 
#1 ·
I searched through the forums and couldn't find a post that really answered all my needs so hopefully this doesn't break any rules and sorry if I do but I am in highschool and I'm new to building cars. I am getting started to build a 331 stroker turbo build that's mainly a street car but I will take it to the drag strip every once and a while. The build that I'm making will go into my 1983 Notchback. I'm on a budget but I'm looking to make around 400-600hp with the turbo. I don't know if I should buy a stock 302 block and bore it out or if I should save up a lot of money and buy a stronger 331 already made. I'm going to an automotive school in a few months so I am able to do all machine work, rear end, trans, and any work you can imagine for "free". Also I'm not sure what type of head or size chamber of heads to buy. Also if I should upgrade the type of rollers and push rods. I was thinking about running an F303 cam or maybe even an X303 because I have heard they are really good for boosted applications. I've heard some people running stock everything (except a tire) with a 302 and making 10 second passes with a 70mm turbo but I'd rather be safe than sorry so I want decently strong internals. The stroker kit I was going to get was the Scat 331 with the I-beam rods. I can't figure out how much power they can hold but it's gotta be better than stock and also its $1000 cheaper than next option with the H-beams. Sooo pretty much I'm asking on tips on how to make good power for decently cheap but not blow it. Anything helps thank you!

See less See more
#3 ·
If the automotive school you are going to is SAM in Tx. Do yourself a favor and just hold off till you get to school before you purchase anything.