Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I recently finished building a 5.0 with gt40p heads, explorer intake, and tfs stage 1 cam. The gain was decent but I got a bug up my ass and have decided i need a turbo. After looking around a little bit, it seems the mp 70 turbo is a good way to go. But i have not found information specific to my setup. I am looking to get 400rwhp, my compression ratio should be about 9.5:1. Now, what kind of boost can i safely run like this? Hopefully enough to reach my goal, with a little to spare, for later. I am totally new to turbos and plan to install it with a buddy, so any other pointers/info would be great.

·
Registered
2,069 Posts
I hopefully will be in the 425-450 range with the following setup.

Stock block 77k miles, GT40 heads, MSD dig 6, Precision 67mm pushing 9lbs, 60lb inj, 3:55 gears, with stock T5.

·
Registered
2,069 Posts
Yes, just had them milled yesterday .008 I have been meaning to check into where that bumps my compression ratio? I ordered the quicktime kit. Should be running shortly (month or two). I would think with your combo you would easily see 400 to the wheels.

Make sure you let whoever you buy a kit from know your running GT40P heads, I almost bought some recently. It's a good thing a did some research cause they wouldnt work with my kit.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
for an auto or manual? I realize the turbo builds boost when the engine has to work but is it really necessary to get gears that high?

·
Registered
3,209 Posts
3:55 gears are too low for a turbo engine. It will be hard to spool up the turbo and it will run out of steam up top. You shouldn't go lower than 3:26 gears.
3.27's work quite well with a 26" dia. tire...and 3.55's with a 28" tire. Now there is no "right" combination hear....and the spool difference between the two given the same tire is likely to be indistinguishable.