Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I apologize if this is in the wrong thread but I'm looking to get some help as to what my best option would be for a transmission going into next summer.
My 2004 GT is currently supercharged with a vortech v2 that makes around 420hp to the wheels (on the stock TR3650). Engine has forged internals, been rebuilt, etc so there are no problems there. (fuel, injectors, etc will be upgrade along the way)

My question for you guys is: is I'm completely new to drivetrain, trainsmissions, all that jazz. Bellhousings, TKO 600, bellhousings, it's all a blur to me. My plan is to make 700 rwhp next summer and I need a trans that will support that torque easily (I don't anticipate going over 700 once I get there).

Any suggestions. Is there a rebuild kit of the TR3650 that someone magically beefs up the internals to support that amount of power or am I looking at getting a full own race trans (auto or manual doesn't matter but I would love a manual).

Sorry I know there are some topics on here about this already but I haven't found much to definitively answer my question.
Thank you in adavnce!

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
(on the stock TR3650). Engine has forged internals, been rebuilt, etc so there are no problems there
I should also mention that I installed a 31 spline aluminum driveshaft recently. The clutch is currently a stage 2, Exedy 400 racing clutch (which will most likely have to go when I do all the drivetrain work)

·
Registered
229 Posts
I have heard very good things about the T-56 Magnum from the guys on SVTP that have gone to that trans with high HP. I have 740 at the wheels with a T-56 that was rebuilt by Liberty Transmission in Michigan. I had them install a 26 spline input and install better forks, sincros, etc. I don't go to the track much, but it was not the problem the two time I have gone.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #4