Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
594 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My wifes 00GT seems to have a lot of popping noises sounds like either in the bellhousing area and in the exhaust, it did this when it was stone stock and last night I installed a Mac X-pipe and its still there?? Its the same sound as cars make when they are hot and shut off like creeking noises , is this normal, another Question is that when the rpms are held at 2200 there is little vibration anyone else have problems similar to these with their 99-02 4R70W's?? Thanks Trey

·
Registered
297 Posts
I beleive that is condensated water dropping on to the ultra-hot cats. I had the same concern when I first got my car. I guess they'll just rust quicker.:rolleyes:

I haven't noticed too much vibration at 2200 rpms and I don't really notice a popping noise when driving. I have a subscription to alldata for that model year. I can send you TSB info if you want.

·
Registered
2,335 Posts
00MustangGT said:
I beleive that is condensated water dropping on to the ultra-hot cats.
Is that what the dealer told you? If so, where was this water coming from? A/C lines? How about in cold weather with no A/C or defroster on?

My car makes the same noises. Really didn't hear it much until I did the shift kit. Mmmmm...

·
Premium Member
2,054 Posts
trey193:

The little shift solenoids (2) are audible when coasting to a stop. Is it a light metallic click (solenoid) or is it a metallic pop? The heat shields on my stock h-pipe used to 'pop' a lot when the car was just parked after toodling around town. (This is much less frequent now with the VRS pipe). Is that what you are hearing?

·
Registered
116 Posts
nyuk98gt said:
trey193: