Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

No experience - but, with an impending storm in the area - I have the need for a generator to keep a few items at home going. Chest freezer, refrigerator, maybe a little space heater, etc.

I know I'm late grabbing one just ahead of a storm but I picked up a WEN model 56200i for store pickup (I'm stuck at work) because they showed that as available and I confirmed with the store that they had it.

WEN 56200i review

Specs seem just fine to me and similar when compared to other units in the same price range.

Does anyone have experience with this model or could maybe comment on whether it's decent or not (maybe I missed something glaring specs-wise, etc)?

Any insight would be much appreciated, thanks.

·
Registered
67 Posts
I have no knowledge of that particular generator. I’d suggest checking into I guess it would be the surge wattage of your appliances. We commonly run the same appliances with a 3000w unit and have only had an issue when the wife thinks she needs to microwave. Good luck!

·
Registered
2,208 Posts
That generator will run a standard 15 amp circuit. It will handle the startup of a large item such as a fridge or freezer. If you want to run two large items that generator is borderline IMHO. It is rated for 1,600 watts your wife's hairdryer is like rated at 1,500-2k watts.

·
Registered
2,208 Posts
The fridge and freezer will keep a very long time as long as you don't open them much so that's a good thing. Also you can run one of those for a couple of hours and once cool move to the next item.

Fridge and freezer should keep food from spoiling without power for a good day, really longer if you don't stand there with it open for long.

If you want to run all of those at once you'll need a much bigger generator.

·
Premium Member
1,125 Posts