Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm a total newbie when it comes to the mustang world. I have a relatively stock 98 GT that I intend on beefing up. I'm not interested in racing, I just want a nice street machine as this is my only car at the moment.

The trouble is, I have no idea where to start. From what I have read, it would be a good idea to add the following modifications, but I am unsure about the order in which I should approach these mods.

Obviously, I will be doing these mods in stages. Maybe one day I'll be able to approach a project like this without money being an object. But at the moment, it certainly is.

1) New headers (From what I have read the stock headers are just ass, and need to be replaced immediately.) Also, my car is very low so from what I understand, shorty headers are in order as ground clearance is definitely an issue for me.

2) Chip - I haven't been able to discern too much about chipping the 4.6 mustang. Should I get custom chips or a something I can program myself? From what I understand, if I get custom chips burned and do any serious mods after that, I will have to get them re-burned. Is it standard for that to cost the same amount as the original process?

3) Roller Rockers. The bang for your buck on this mod seems to be astronomical.

4) Cold air vs. Ram air system. (Being concerned with the look of the car, I don't want to give up one of my fog lights to accomodate a ram air system. Is there an alternative?)

5) New head vs. Milling my existing one? Is the stock head as bad as the stock headers?

6) New intake manifold. Would this be worth the cost and wrench time? And if so, should I use the cobra intake or buy an aftermarket one?

7) New ignition system. I never realized how much a good ignition meant... I thought it just started the car. :)