Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,771 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok, this is weird. I was getting 10lbs of boost when I had an open 3" down pipe about 24" from the turbo. I just ran the cat back setup that goes on the system for emission purposes. Now, you can hardly hear the turbo (use to hear it all the time). I put 2.5" dual exhaust no mufflers and now....no boost. Feels like it wants to go hard, but without the boost it just seems like a naturally aspirated gt. is it possible that the exhaust would really cause this to happen?
That is the only thing I've changed. Just seems crazy, but I'm new to turbos.
Thoughts??
The kit I'm running is the Hellion single turbo kit for a 2006 GT 3v 4.6. Even though I say catback...there are no cats on s this setup. It's all straight pipe.

·
Premium Member
800 Posts
Something not right there. There's no reason you should lose boost from that. I'd check the turbo. If you're not hearing it, and there's no boost, that points to turbo.
1)See if turbo is spinning, speeding up, etc.
2)Check vacuum lines and such for leaks(maybe vacuum line to gauge is bad)
3)Intake/discharge tube leaks. A bad coupler may look fine until it's under boost.
4)Pull the exhaust back off, see what happens
That'd be my humble route of troubleshooting.

·
Premium Member
688 Posts
Did you mess with your tuner and set something wrong?

·
Premium Member
1,771 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Yea, all good points. Is there any info on how to make a good boost leak tester on here? I'm going to pull off the intake side today and see if I can finger spin the impeller.

·
Registered
2,937 Posts
plumbing shops will have them. theyre a plug type fitting with a schrader valve hookup. commonly used to test drain lines during new construction inspections

·
Premium Member
1,771 Posts
Discussion Starter #7