Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, but I have been searching all over the place the last few weeks and couldn't find any answers so I'm hoping you guys can help. I'm building a race car that will have a stand alone engine harness and computer so I have been going through a trying to thin out the entire body harness. The car is a 90 4 cylinder 5spd coupe. I have been able to slowly get a lot of wiring out from the dash harness and the body harness but have a few questions still. First main question would be can I use a 1990 v8 headlight harness? (this car never had a headlight harness when I bought it) I know that the alternator plug will be on the opposite side but I really only need the harness to run the lights, no alt plugs are needed, I also won't be using the washer fluid tank or pump, also won't have any other sensors for the coolant overflow needed either. My concern is where it will get the 12v from since I believe the 4 cyl dash harness has the main power feed (multiple yellow wires tied together) for the alternator. Just want to know if this is possible to use the v8 headlight harness or not with the 4 cyl dash harness. I have a few other questions also regarding the part of the dash harness that goes out into the engine bay, can I completely cut out the 2 plugs that I believe plugged into the engine harness? I have these plugs down to only having about 2 wires in each as I already tried to cut out as much of the engine wiring from the dash wiring (ie. oil pressure sender, coolant temp, etc) and this left me with a few wires in each plug still. I'll post some pics here shortly from my phone.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3