Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guy I have a problem I cant figure out I'm new to the wireing thing i have a 91 foxbody carburetor 393 stroker it crank over but dont fire up I have a 6al box I have a pro billet distributor a msd blaster coil i have the box wired up I have the gray wire to the dask rpm signal wire #11 tan and yellow.. the msd box 12v wire is on a 12v hot cranking wire what can be wrong????

·
Registered
372 Posts
Do you have 12v to the 6AL in crank & run? Are you using white wire trigger or magnetic (violet/green) pickup trigger?

·
Registered
24,110 Posts
Hey guy I have a problem I cant figure out I'm new to the wireing thing i have a 91 foxbody carburetor 393 stroker it crank over but dont fire up I have a 6al box I have a pro billet distributor a msd blaster coil i have the box wired up I have the gray wire to the dask rpm signal wire #11 tan and yellow.. the msd box 12v wire is on a 12v hot cranking wire what can be wrong????

have you checked for spark during crank?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Do you have 12v to the 6AL in crank & run? Are you using white wire trigger or magnetic (violet/green) pickup trigger?
Have have the magnetic pick up and yes my msd cranks in run
I dont no how can you tell what to do or how can I test my.coil I have a ohm meter and all.it show is 000 when I have it hooked up
No what's the best way to do that

·
Registered
372 Posts
Great. Let's see if the 6AL produces spark:

1. Make sure the ignition switch is in the Off position.
2. Remove the coil wire from the distributor cap and position the terminal so it is approximately 1/2" from a good ground.
3. Disconnect the MSD Magnetic Pickup connector from the distributor.
4. Turn the ignition to the On position. DO NOT CRANK THE ENGINE. Make sure the small red wire has 12v.