Ford Mustang Forums banner

MSpnp2 base tune review please

3K views 7 replies 3 participants last post by  Blown88GT 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I'm helping my friend with his MSpnp2 installation. He has a 1991 5.0 AOD and is upgrading to a 351W engine. Combo is as follows:

• 351W roller block
  • AFR 185 heads
  • Not sure on compression, but built for naturally aspirated
  • 1.6 roller rockers
  • Stock Ford ignition and TFI mounted on a Ford distributor
  • TFS intake manifold
  • 42 Lb/hr green top injectors (eBay, so we'll see how these work out)
  • BBK in fender CAI
  • 1994 Cougar 3.8L MAF
  • 70mm BBK TB
  • Custom cam, high 220's duration at 0.050" and mid .550" lift both intake and exhaust, low 110's LSA
  • Single electric fan
  • 1 5/8" long tubes with O/R X-pipe into Spintech mufflers
  • Beefed up AOD, 2600ish stall
  • 4.10 gears
This is my first experience with Megasquirt and TunerStudio. I have several years with GM LSx based computers and I have some experience with the Quarterhouse and TunerPro on my own car. I read as much as I could on the MS platform and what needed to be done to get the car to run with it. He wants to keep the MAF and have the MS control the electric fan. The MS he bought is from DIYAutotune and the model number is MCPNP2-EEC4A8, fw rev .3.3.1, inside the base board is version 1.2 and the green board is version 1.3b.

We will be using some of the wires coming from the options plug:

• Wire 05 - Chassis ground. Should this wire be grounded to where the factory A9P was grounded?
  • Wire 13 - Launch control input. I'm using this for my A/C idle up input. I moved jumper J3 in the MS and it will be tied into pin 10 of the EEC harness.
  • Wire 19 - MAF sensor signal. I installed a jumper inside the MS from the external MAP pin to the ADC1 pin. Option wire 19 will be connected to pin 50 of the EEC harness.