Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,361 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so here is my situation.

I had the car tuned up to 20 psi with race gas in it.

I run 15 psi on the street with 93 octane.

Basically what I am wondering is if I hook up a meth kit would that allow me to run 20 psi with 93 octane+ meth?

Would it require tuning for the meth spray?

Im new to the world of meth but I understand it is supposed to be comparable to runnign race gas I was just curious if this is something the tune would need to be adjusted for or if I could just spray it and be good?

I thought I read somewhere that it would lower the A/F ratio a bit.

Truthfully im not looking to run the stuff 100% of the time...just would be nice to flip a switch and be able to run full boost at the track or whenever I feel the need to bump the boost up rather then buying a 75 dollar drum of race gas.

·
Registered
297 Posts
I run over 17 lbs of boost and runs great. Yes it would be advisable to get a tune, it not only increases the octane but lowers the air temps as well. Ask Michael Plummer or Mike Post, either can give you the info you need.

·
Registered
383 Posts
Most race gas is leaded and will ruin your 02 sensors and wideband after a while too. Seems like a 93 octane/Torco mix or 93+straight meth is the only way to go about it with unleaded fuel.

·
Registered
865 Posts
My budy runs 22psi with 91 and meth and when i dyno next month i plan to run ~25psi with 91 and meth. 20psi and 93 and meth will be easy. You will need a retune

·
Registered
1,977 Posts
I run 14 psi 93 octane and a snow performance stage 2 meth kit..its like having 116 octane as soon as boost comes in..And yes you would need a re-tune...

·
Registered
1,247 Posts
most people will just spray the meth then lean the car out til a/f is right, worst case scenario you'll be rich. Just make sure you have a big enough nozzle for your power goals.