Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im just getting into racing. my ? is, when i lauch from first, do i just put the clutch or should i let it up like how i do when im just driving. either 1 i try, i still manage to get the tires spinning and cant get a good launch. im just trying to figure out wat the best way to do it is

·
Registered
5,911 Posts
Sounds like you are posting in the wrong forums. When I ran, autocross (which this is the road racing/autocross forum, not "street racing" or drag racing), I typically dont get the chance to get a good launch in. There would usually be a right hand turn coming right out of the first timing gate. So to answer your question, yes I tend to let the clutch out similar to normal driving as popping the clutch would result in some cone killing.

·
Registered
67 Posts
When I race Autocross I use a 1500 clutch slip on street tires. You want enough to get out of the start box without bogging down but not to much to where you burn the tires down. You will have to do some practicing before race day.

·
Registered
178 Posts
Oktavius said:
Sounds like you are posting in the wrong forums. When I ran, autocross (which this is the road racing/autocross forum, not "street racing" or drag racing), I typically dont get the chance to get a good launch in. There would usually be a right hand turn coming right out of the first timing gate. So to answer your question, yes I tend to let the clutch out similar to normal driving as popping the clutch would result in some cone killing.
I went to an autocross event today and they had a 300 ft straight away at the start.

·
Registered
391 Posts
300 ft!!! That would give you time to get that turbo spooled!