1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
353 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was always a ford guy.

Had 3 fox body.

Ford was always in my family.

I started looking at GM. Never knew that GM V8 were still Cam in Block V8. I didnt know that.

Im a student and think about buying a used 2010 SS, 6 speed.

Those cars make serious horsepower for a Cam in Block V8 Engine.Even if its old technology.

I read that they make more torque than modular also.

The one im looking at is LS3 with 1 7/8 Long tube headers, off road mid and catback. Make 461 Flywheel HP.

What do you guys think about 2010+ Camaro SS with cam in block v8 Engine?

·
Registered
2,989 Posts
i am sure its a fine car, i just hate the styling of it. it looks like someone took a 69 camaro and screwed it up.

·
Registered
3,046 Posts
Take a good hard look at that cam in block "old school" engine.....

It's actually a little more complex than a chain driven OHC engine is, with the way they did the variable cam timing and such. Oil usage has been a bit of an issue with them, at least in the trucks.

GM has actually given up on the pushrod design and they're going with OHC V8's in the 'Vette's for 2018 I believe. This tells me that eventually the OHC will go into the trucks and camaro's too.

GM has come a long way from what they were in the 1990's but there's still room for improvements. Especially in the aesthetics department. Square wheel wells and a flat ugly hood on the trucks, and the camaros that look a little like a smiling catfish. Just doesn't do it for me, but that's personal preference.