Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

Just got done going through my brakes after my last track day at Barber Motorsports Park on my 99 GT. The stock brakes are long gone and the car has:

Cobra brakes all around
Foglights removed and brake ducts pointing at the center of the front rotors.

I'm still fairly new to track days. Barber was my 5th track day, and my second this year. All last year I ran Hawk HPS pads and 360 TW street tires (275/40s on 17x9s, which I'm still running). I killed the HPSs and for my two track days this year I ran HP+son new rotors from Autozone.

While going through my brakes today I noticed that I have melted the piston boots off of my drivers side front caliper. See below

Last winter I replaced both front calipers with remans from Autozone. I'm guessing the boots they use weren't really built for track use!

My quesiton is, can I rebuild the calipers with higher-temp boots / seals? Or do I need to get 2 new remans from someplace that puts higher-temp boots and seals in their calipers? If thats the case, from where do you guys get your cobra brake calipers?

TIA

·
Registered
4,239 Posts
Both of my cars that have seen track duty have destroyed boots on the calipers. That includes the boots on my CTS-V's 6-piston OEM Brembo calipers. I haven't done anything about it, and (knock on wood) haven't had any issues.

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Both of my cars that have seen track duty have destroyed boots on the calipers. That includes the boots on my CTS-V's 6-piston OEM Brembo calipers. I haven't done anything about it, and (knock on wood) haven't had any issues.
Thank you for the reply. I was happy to see that the pistons weren't leaking but I was shocked that the boots were gone. I guess the o-ring or seal is fine but the boots are crapola.