Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
  1. Hey all, dealing with a broken egr tube from the egr valve to the header. Car is a 96 cobra with a Vortech supercharger. I was driving the car last week and I heard an exhaust leak coming from the driver side headed area. Did some more investigating and turns out the egr tube had broken off from heat/stress over time. I am by no means an expert so this is why I need some guidance. The car does have long tube headers(not sure what brand.). From what I know the egr tube from the valve to the header usually has threaded connections on both ends. A previous owner/shop had modified the connection at the header with a flexible tube that comes off of the factory egr tube and used two “u” clamps to hold it in place. I’m gonna say this isn’t the greatest setup and most likely a hacked up installation. Unless I am missing something I am gonna assume to do this RIGHT the header would have to come out, cut out the adapter and weld in a new adapter that accepts a threaded connection. From what I’ve been told even to remove a header from the engine to work on is a chore because the k member would have to be dropped. It’s gotta be a $1000 job or more if I goes to a shop,and I’m not trying to open up a can of worms by taking a ton of stuff apart because I don’t have a ton of money to throw at the car at the moment. So I am asking opinions. Should I just repeat what is there with a new flexible tube? Where would I even get one? Is there a better way to secure it to the factory egr tube and the header than “u” clamps? Should I just delete the egr, and if I do won’t it throw a check engine light? I will attach pictures to better explain myself so you can understand it.

Attachments

·
Registered
108 Posts
Personally, Id just replace the old flex pipe with a new one. Im sure it will last for years, and should be cheap to replace. Nothing wrong with the small exhaust clamps to hold it.