Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
150 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been doing quite a bit of research (using the search button, too) around here as I'm new to the Mustang world. Coming from the F-body camp it's like learning a new language lol. My Camaro had mild suspension work and was a great street car that saw on-and-off HPDE events.
I picked up a no-option '92 SSP Notchback and want to ditch the current drag setup for a more Auto-X friendly combo.
I now have a better understanding of the Fox and camber, coilovers, different control arms, panhard, K-member etc. My question is, ultimately if there aren't too many downsides to a TA I'd like to aim in that direction. Other than a few people complaining about more cabin noise and a few others bending them at the strip are there any other problems? A few people have told me "you'll break stuff, keep the 4-link," but give no reason.

The car will be a once-a-week street car and see HPDE and AutoX stuff at least once a month. Probably see the strip and handful of times as well.

Thanks all!

Nice to meet you!

·
Super Moderator
27,653 Posts
Remember who the short-bus riders are who told you to stick with the 4-link because you'll break stuff with the torque arm, and keep your distance, they're draining the intelligence out of the immediate area.

Downsides to the torque arm include a lot of weight, mostly unsprung, and some potential exhaust clearance issues to resolve. They also make it a little harder to do driveshaft and exhaust work, and with the wrong setup or technique they can wheelhop under braking. The setup is sensitive to pinion angle, and of course it requires a lateral location device like a panhard bar or watts link.

None of these alone or in combination outweighs the benefits, IMHO.

·
Registered
3,363 Posts