Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For any of you doing the Coyote swap with original harness & ECM (not control pack) and 6R80/10R80 auto transmission, are you able to retain the Cruise Control?

I found out the Coyote Control Pack does not support Cruise Control.
So I want to make sure the factory harness will somehow allow for it either via OEM cruise or 3rd party cruise control.

Would suck to swap in a Coyote and suddenly lose cruise control.
Well, for those of use using our vehicle as a daily driver anyhow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,232 Posts
you best to talk to a tuner of these variety of pcms

if it has the sufficient inputs it should be doable

i dont think a third party will work with a flyby wire throttle

unlikely they will talk the same language
 
  • Like
Reactions: CZ Eddie

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,232 Posts
that is who i had in mind

and the price seems very fair to me

i know what goes into it

many hours

your not going to easily do something from pallet, the software alone is huge $$$
 
  • Like
Reactions: CZ Eddie

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Whatever I do, I'm sure I'd get a real-live tuner afterwards to sort everything out.
Isn't that where the software $ outlay is?
Or is it another piece of the puzzle I haven't learned about yet?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,232 Posts
tuning software yes is expensive

there aren't many that do this type of swap

i dont recom doing it on the cheap

try piecing that kit out
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Rumor has it the Rostra drive-by-wire cruise control systems might work.
Custom Drive-By-Wire Cruise Control by Rostra

lowranger96 said:
Ever looked into the Rostra 250-1847? It plugs in between the pedal and ecu and it appears it will work for the control pack guys.
https://www.svtperformance.com/threads/96-cobra-coyote-swap-cruise-control.1061764/



ATOLightning said:
I think it will be possible with something like the Rostra 250-1223 universal kit, but we would definately have to come up with a mechanical system that would attach to the only moving part in the system....the pedal. Someone will definately have to be the guinea pig on this one...I would but I have no drivetrain, yet.
https://thefactoryfiveforum.com/showthread.php?9825-Cruise-Control-with-Ford-Racing-Coyote
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
195 Posts
The Power by the Hour harness and control pack/ecu has blunt leads for cruise control. The problem is you have to have the factory steering wheel switches from a 2011-2014 gt to make it work. The swap i did was on a 93 foxbody. They said i could use the steering switches but i would have to figure out what resistors to add into the circuit to give it the same resistance as the 2011-2014 switches. The customer passed on it so we never dove in to figure it out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
The Power by the Hour harness and control pack/ecu has blunt leads for cruise control. The problem is you have to have the factory steering wheel switches from a 2011-2014 gt to make it work. The swap i did was on a 93 foxbody. They said i could use the steering switches but i would have to figure out what resistors to add into the circuit to give it the same resistance as the 2011-2014 switches. The customer passed on it so we never dove in to figure it out.
Dang, that's sad but good info. Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,232 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
i dont see a kit for coyote swap

you can have one for a factory car not equipped with cruise
Exactly. None specifically for Coyote, let alone coyote swaps.
But some for drive-by-wire, like the Coyote is.
So it's still "not enough information" but it "looks promising".
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,232 Posts
with a good wiring diagram, one could design one to work for your specific application

whether its worth the effort is another question
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23,232 Posts
i dont see any conclusion to that thread?

would need to the system inputs and outputs and figure out system logic
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
453 Posts
you best to talk to a tuner of these variety of pcms

if it has the sufficient inputs it should be doable

i dont think a third party will work with a flyby wire throttle

unlikely they will talk the same language
DBW makes it easier to add cruise - no mechanical linkage to the TB is necessary. The cruise connects inline with the throttle pedal and takes speed from the ECU. When cruise is disabled, it passes the pedal signal through untouched. When cruise is enabled, it ignores the pedal input and sends its own throttle position to to the TB to maintain speed.

These kinds of kits are common on current crappy cars that can come without cruise - my FIL got one for his Yaris. It's less likely that it'd be available for a Mustang, but that's not a limitation of DBW, that's because Mustangs all come with cruise standard, so there's little market for adding cruise to one.

Maybe something for the F150 would work - you could get an XL with the 5.0 and no cruise.

https://www.thecruisecontrolstore.com/250-1847-2009-2014-ford-f-150-truck-complete-rostra-cruise-control-kit/
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top