Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Any benefit to running both? Going to start on my cage in a week or so.. just trying to get some input. Basically wondering if SFC will help even with a well designed cage.

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
I would think that regular under the car weld on's would help, but since you're, what reads as "custom cage", a set of through the floor subframes would give your cage a great foundation to build from.

I'm no expert in cage design, but the above seems to make sense(in my head).

·
Registered
2,133 Posts
Yeah I was thinking threw floor sfc would be good.
If you run competitively or think you might, going through the floor will make the car illegal for many racing classes, including NASA's CMC. (That's what pushed me over the edge and permanently into AI.)

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I dont plan to now but I am building the cage so if I ever wanted to I could. 1 3/4 .120 DOM and nascar style door bars etc building it to nasa specs. The main thing I am wondering is if they are needed after a full cage. Ive done some cage stuff before but it was all off road racing stuff never anything like this.

·
Registered
2,133 Posts
I dont plan to now but I am building the cage so if I ever wanted to I could. 1 3/4 .120 DOM and nascar style door bars etc building it to nasa specs. The main thing I am wondering is if they are needed after a full cage. Ive done some cage stuff before but it was all off road racing stuff never anything like this.
In that case I'd opt for the cheaper bottom-mount subframe connectors, welded in. These are legal for CMC (pretty sure they are, but check the rules -- I haven't read them for a couple of years.) If you cut the floor for subframe connectors, the tub will NOT be legal for CMC.

·
Registered
196 Posts
Subscribing.

·
Registered
196 Posts