Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me preface this question by stating that I have very little knowledge of cam specs and what is 'good' for a particular combo. So I am sorry if this is a retarded question. My current combo consists of a Lunati 51025 cam. The specs are .535/.544, 224/232, and 112LSA. Is this a horrible cam for turbo, or will it be okay?

·
Registered
4,744 Posts
It will probably be fine.

As rule of thumb you want high LSA on a turbo cam like 115 instead of 110-112.
This help with valve overlap, since you dont want
"exhaust scavanging" like an N/A engine.

On N/A engine low LSA and lots of valve overlap lets the exhaust
flow "suck" extra air out of and into the chamber, but on a turbo
engine you can have enough pre-turbo back pressure build up
that it will actually push exhaust back in.

As long as turbo is properly sized and moderate psi used, it should
be fine though.

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
Sorry to hijack, but this thread feels like the perfect opportunity to ask a question about turbo cams...

I hate to be throwing around cam specs etc myself, but I ran across this cam while browsing around one day.

http://www.lunaticamshafts.com/Product.aspx?id=1666&gid=282

How well would this cam work with a single turbo 351W (fuelie) setup with a stick (5 or 6 speed)....total street car...
Of course responsiveness and streetability are of concern.

Thanks!

·
Registered
179 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks, any suggestions on where to learn more?