Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've always run autox events with a full tank, but almost all the other mustang guys at the events run around 1/4 tank...

my reasoning for a full tank
-since the tank hangs off the back of the car, a full tank helps with rear-end corner-exit traction, the car just feels alot more planted.
-no added side-to-side momentum from a partially full tank sloshing around.

their reasoning for a partial tank:
-a full tank lowers the rear suspension travel slightly (& bind increase as the rear sus. gets towards it's end of travel).
-more understeer from the added weight at the backend from a full tank.

Input for either side of the argument?...

·
Registered
6,493 Posts
I've always tried to run with as little gas as possible. Usually it's something like 1/4 to 1/2 a tank. I'm no expert though.

Gas is around 6 pounds a gallon, so a full tank is around 84lbs. My car is heavy with not alota HP, so less weight the better in my head.

·
Super Moderator
27,657 Posts
I like running with less gas, because less gas is less weight and less weight is easier to brake and to corner, even if it hurts accelerative traction. But some people claim the kind of sensitivity I never had, which is the effect of sloshing and the things it can do just after corner entry, and they like to run a full tank.

It would be fun to test it on a test & tune day where you had a lot of runs on the same course. Bring a couple 5-gal jugs, run it with a light fuel load for several runs, then fill it and see what happens to your times.

·
Registered
568 Posts
I run around a 1/4 tank in the honda. Less sloshy slosh. Feels like I can rotate the car easier..but that is what my butt-o-meter tells me...so who knows.

·
Registered
5,492 Posts
For me, a nearly full tank gave the "more balanced" impression. On the other hand, when doing rather quick transitions, it felt sluggish/slow to respond. On balance, I'm a half full guy.