Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

Just curious if anyone is running a T5 5 speed in a road race application and what mods if any did they do and pros and cons or problems they encountered

Thanks,

Paul

·
Registered
144 Posts
Should be just fine as long as there's no powershifting.. Get a good shifter, since if you overthrow when shifting, it tends to bend the shift forks with the stock POS shifter..

·
Registered
222 Posts
I've been running them for over 10 years. Depending on your power level they should be just fine. Make sure you get a .82 5th gear!

·
Registered
657 Posts
I ran a 4cyl non-world class T5 behind my 408W for 2 years before a small nuclear explosion happened within. It's all about how you drive them. I replaced it with a G-Force T5 and stepped up my driving habbits a bit.

·
Registered
329 Posts
I use a T5 in my Mustang at the track. It's just a street car running on a road course and not an actual race. I have 305rwhp with a h/c/i package. I've had a Tremec II for two years, but the T5 has held up so no need to install it. Right now I use a Pro 5.0 shifter, but I've also used a B&M shifter.

·
Registered
3,013 Posts
I _had_ a T5 in there for several years, then added some power and tires before she went.

Replaced T5 with a TKO, and SIX TRACK DAYS LATER... oops!

Replaced it with a rebuilt TKO-II spec tranny. Been in there for a few years (knock on wood).

Drive it hard (but learned to shift smoothely) with 500rwhp:

·
Administrator
1,536 Posts
Been running a T5 for the past few years. Never had a problem.... knock on wood.

·
Registered
537 Posts