Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was looking to get a custom tube front end and most places quoted me $1500+. 417 motorsports has this priced at $750, full chromoly with fender mounts (which was a must for me). I have little experience in this type of thing, this was the first time I had ever drilled out a spot weld even.

It was surprisingly easy. Blake, the owner, is easy to get ahold of to ask questions.

Things I'm doing that others might not... welding a plate where the factory upper crush area meets the tube front. Relocating the radiator further back from OEM. I'm also adding a bar to the front frame rails to support the fender/a2a intercooler.

Keep in mind, You'll have to put hood pins or something of the like in since factory hood mount will be deleted.

Lastly, its light. The box the tube front came in weighed 25lbs. They claim a savings of over 63lbs if you include the factory crash bumper.

·
Premium Member
3,569 Posts
I will be looking for updated pics as you progress and put it back together. What was your old setup like?

I have contemplated going this route to clean up my engine bay even more and to help with packaging...might even use that as an excuse to change my hotside around for a front mount a bigger turbo, no intercooler (meth instead) and side bumper exit downpipes.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well I'm completely changing it up. Old setup was a 331 with small twins.

Now doing 4v 5.4 with a s480

I want the turbo up high in the passenger wheel well so I can run an exhaust out back (no fender exit for me) and I wanted space up front to put a big a2a with as little cutting to bumper as possible.

·
Registered
813 Posts
Also curious.... I have no experience with stuff like this either. Looks to be nothing there anymore..... I don't see how you can mount anything to it lol.....

·
Registered
2,682 Posts