Ford Mustang Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last time at the track I started having a head gasket issue, blowing coolant out the overflow on the track. 95 GT 5.0 with AODE. Since I have to tear down the engine anyways, I have been looking for an inexpensive way to supercharge it. Using an Eaton off of an 03-04 Cobra and making adapters to mount it on my 5.0 seems like the lowest cost way to go. I am a machinist by trade so getting it to bolt on and set up is no worry but I do have a few other questions.

1. I currently have 30lb injectors. Will they be enough? It is still a stock block/lower end so I am only planning to use 6-8 psi boost.

2. Will my 75mm throttle body work/be enough?

3. I have a 195lph fuel pump, is that enough?

4. I am switching to ARP head studs and I already have a set of Fel-Pro Perma-Torque MLS gaskets # , good enough?

5. The blower has a built in by-pass with a vacuum operated actuator, what is the proper way to hook it up?

The blower will be here this week and I plan to start right away on making the adapters needed. I hope to be running by April 20th. Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
39 Posts
In 302 you have no room for intercooler, so you lose some power. 112 is made that way it is very difficult to build intercooler outside.
I had 30 lbs injectors in my old 302 Cobra, and it made 275 rwhp, and injectors were near the limit. I suggest 300 lph pump and bigger injectors, Late Tbird SC has 36 lbs, but it wont harm if you get decent biggers.
Stock studs are enough with mls-gaskets. Bypass is controlled by vacuum after throttle.
75 Tb is good.

I build 4.6 32 valve + 112 for my Cobra, I'll install 340lph pump and I have 54 lbs GT500 injectors for it.

·
Premium Member
1,125 Posts
First, sell that blower you get and buy a pro charger or a vortech. I wouldn’t bother with all that work for just 6-8lbs of boost. But hey that’s me. I think you’d be better off.