New Guy with simple question, kinda long - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 05-17-2007, 01:21 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
New Guy with simple question, kinda long

Hey guys,

I am rather new to forced induction, I just sold my '03 Cobra to buy a house, and i bought a '91 notch. My issue is i miss the boost and HP related to the boost. I am searching for the ideal system to put on my notch. it is a daily driver, and i am only looking 10psi max. anywhere from 5-10psi would be fine. I need something basic, streetable, and rather easy. I am looking for suggestions from the turbo and blower guys as to which will be more effective to install keeping the factory block, trans etc.

As i said it is a daily driver so reliability would be another important factor. I am not looking to make 1000Hp, just a reasonable level that would put me back into the HP feeling the cobra had. (Knowing that it pushed 400+ but weighed more, i am not looking to match teh cobra HP exactly). Any opinions or suggestions you could offer would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-17-2007, 02:15 PM

Trader Feedback: (13)
Well, since driveability is an issue, I say go turbo....Turbo cars drive like stockers.....Especially when you retain the stock cam....Turbos are also easier on your internals.....A decent turbo system is $3K though.....You can buy a nice used S-trim for around $1600 and get you maybe 300rwhp....But the beauty of a turbo is that you don't have to spin the crank outta the motor to make boost and power.....Turbo's are fairly rough on stock T-5's though...The torque they make rains havic on the 10spline input shaft.....Most stock 5.0's with 7-8psi from a turbo will put down 375-400 through a stick.....Hope that helps..

post #3 of 8 Old 05-17-2007, 04:09 PM