just some info - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 05-15-2007, 10:27 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
just some info

hey guys.. just a quick question or to..

i am looking into going turbo and was wondering what recommendations you would have.. i have no experience with a turbo car at all and will be doing all the work myself except for the tuning.

Current setup:
TF track heat heads
TF track heat intake
TF cam stg I (221/224, .490/.510 @112)
TF pushrods
Lucas 1.6rr
24# bosch injectors
BBK CAI fenderwell
PP 70mm TB
Pro-M 75mm MAS coversion
Tremec t-3550
FR Aluminum Driveshaft
FR 3.73
FR double roller timing chain
FR valve covers
FR lifters
Fluidyne 2 core aluminum radiator
Black magic electric fan
MSD 6al
MSD coil
Holly 190 litre fp
BBK equal length shorties
Basani X

i dont plan on going stupid as hell or anything.. i would be happy with between 500-550 rwhp when done.. i wouldnt imagine it would take me to much to get there (i was thinking 10-14#)..

what turbo kit/setup would you guys recommend? i was thinking of rebuilding the bottom end of the car also since its stock and 177k.

priced out around 2k to completely rebuid the bottom and was thinking of dropping CR to 8.3:1 to be safe.

thanks for any advice.. id like to actually get started on this within the next few weeks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 05-15-2007, 10:41 PM

Fuel should be your first priority. Bigger injectors, fuel pump. I think the general consensus is that, stock lines are safe up to about 450-500. You can see in my sig, that I started getting lean @3200. 255l intank, stock lines, rails, and 42#inj. I now have the glennsperformance.com 950hp system.

I say get a fuel system or build one yourself. You def. want to forge the pistons at least, and add a girdle. What cat-back you running? If you are running a chambered muffler, you are holding up some hp and tq #'s too.