Help me understand about routing a turbo... - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 05-16-2005, 11:24 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (14)
Help me understand about routing a turbo...

I'm very new to the whole Turbocharging idea, Used to have a S-Trim on my stang but am now looking at turbocharging a 4.2L V6 I have now in my thunderbird.

First off,, I want to run a single turbo setup with low boost numbers between 7-11PSI.

Do I have to run both exhaust manifolds into the turbo? or can I simply route one manifold into it?

I figure a Single turbo off a 2.0-2.3L if its run off only one side of the engine would work would it? anything bigger and it would suffer from lots of lag.

I'm currently looking at either a stock T3/t4 turbo from a 2.3L ford or a stock GrandNational turbo,, mainly for there price and availability.

Does the internal wastegate act as a Blowoff valve?? or will I need a wastegaste and a blowoff valve also?

Excuse my ignorance please but I couldnt find this in a search.

Thanx,
Brad M

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 05-17-2005, 08:39 AM

Trader Feedback: (1)
A wastegate and a blow off/bypass have nothing to do with each other.
HowStuffWorks.com has some info.

For optimum performance you'll want to route both manifolds to the turbo. Routing only one side would be a waste of good energy.

http://www.turbomustangs.com/turbofaq.php read this site.

post #3 of 3 Old 05-18-2005, 06:57 PM

Trader Feedback: (0)
Quote:
Do I have to run both exhaust manifolds into the turbo? or can I simply route one manifold into it?
yes you need to run both exhaust manifolds in to 1...