new to turbos, can twin t28's make 14 psi of boost? - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 05-18-2003, 02:55 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
new to turbos, can twin t28's make 14 psi of boost?

I'm new to turbo's, and am entertaining the idea of a custom twin setup for a 4.6 2v. I know TPT makes a nice single turbo kit for the 4.6 2v, but in cali, I won't pass visual because of the special exhaust requirements. I'm going to eventually fabricate(after all my research is done) a setup similar to what incon made for 5.0's, where the turbos are very close to the block, and a stock type(read catted) x/h-pipe can be bolted up. My goal is 450-460 rwhp, and I think this can be achieved(someone on this board, can't remember their name, I think it was blown '01 gt made 420 rwhp on 12 lbs of boost with a vortech) with 14 lbs of boost(I'll be using a 9.0:1 compression shortblock and 91 octane, as thats the best i've got out here). Anyways, I'm wondering if two t28 turbos will be able to make that much boost(I'm looking for 12-14 by 3300 rpm).

Here's the rest of the specs:
4.6 2 vavle
6500 rpm redline
9.0:1 compression

Like I said, I haven't learned much about turbos yet, as I've just started my research, but I want to know if the turbos I'm looking at will be too small.

Thanks a lot.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 05-18-2003, 11:17 PM

t28's...

Never...

post #3 of 8 Old 05-19-2003, 01:18 AM Thread Starter

what are they capable of? Or at least tell me what turbos can.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 Old 05-19-2003, 02:12 AM

Ok. You cant compare Turbo boost Vs Sueprcharger boost.
But first, boost is the backpressure in the intake side of an engine. Boost cannot be converted into HP numbers, since boost itself doesnt do anything.

Now, making a manifold like Incons will take good effort from you. If you know how to weld go for it.