boost controller question on how it effects tune - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By t32265
  • 1 Post By t32265

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 12-21-2017, 08:14 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (3)
Garage
Talking boost controller question on how it effects tune

Im new to the boost controller world. I have a ams1000 in mustang TT. My question is this. If you tune your car for 20 psi max with no boost controller hooked up and then you install one and run 6 psi 1st stage, 15 psi 2nd stage, then 18 psi 3rd stage and 20 psi on the rest of the stages how will this effect your air fuel ratio if you not seeing the full 20 psi at red line in the first 3 stages. Im trying to wrap my head around how guys change there boost setting to get there car to hook and how it effects tuning. I came from a supercharged car so im try to learn as much as i can about controlling the boost/tuning. thanks

Boss 5.3L modular stroker, DOHC, E85, 9.5:1, 4.0L whipple, well over 800rwhp, all in a s197 body!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 12-21-2017, 08:41 AM

Trader Feedback: (0)
I had a similar question when i had my car tuned, but it was more of if i tune for 18# and dial it back to 8 or 9 will it run too rich or have any adverse affects. The simple answer was no, it is adjusting fuel according to what the maf is metering.

My question is are you able to run that wide off boost ranges off a single controller? So far i have only seen controllers that can at max double the current spring pressure unless there was some sort of secondary gas assist. So if you have a 8psi spring, 8 is the lowest you can go and roughly 16 is the highest. I had asked a few months back on here what controllers could do more but didnt get a response. I have this dilema now, i want to bump max boost a little but that means my lowest boost goes up as well if i change the spring

'01 Hellion'd single turbo 2v