want to build a 331 turbo motor!! - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 Old 01-20-2003, 04:48 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
want to build a 331 turbo motor!!

I am looking to build or get built a 331 shortblock that will be used with a custom twin turbo setup. I am planning on used two T3 turbos. I am looking for low compression so I can run a fair amount of boost, probably between 8:1 and 8.5:1. I am going to use my current TFS TW heads with this motor. I am looking to either build my own motor or get a shortblock built. I have never built the bottom end of a motor before. I am a little afraid of spending like 1200 on a kit and then not doing it right and bye bye motor. If I were to get a shortblock built I want it to have pistons that will work with my heads so that I can run a lot of lift with no problems. Who would be the best to buy a motor from that could build it for low compression and with pistons that will work well with my heads?? How hard honestly is it to build a bottom end?? What would be an ok block to build it with? would the svo sportsman block be able to handle 550 rwhp or so? I don't really have the money to spend on the R302 block. thanks in advance guys!!!

92 LX notch--Shorty headers--Pro 5.0 shifter--130 amp alt--U/D pullies--A/C delete--190 LPH FP--Compucar nitrous kit--FMS aluminum D/S--Elec Fan--Weld DL's--M/T ET Street--2900 lbs
13.8 at 100 mph - 2.0 60' - Motor
13.0 at 108 mph - 1.9 60' - 90 shot N2O
SOLD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 01-21-2003, 01:52 PM

Trader Feedback: (0)