Budget Build Turbo Opinions - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Quickstang92

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 03-02-2016, 12:07 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (3)
Budget Build Turbo Opinions

Hey Y'all,

I looking to turbo my 04 cobra engine. It is in front of a 4r70w w/ 2800rpm stall and in a 4400lb car. I am on a very tight budget for the turbo itself as I had a trade deal on twin 35r's go south. The goal is approx. 750-800rwhp.

I have an ebay special 45r sitting in the garage, but I fear the exhaust side is to small. The exhaust side is twin scroll and is 76mm with .68 A/R and has a 4" outlet. I'm considering opening up the exhaust housing a bit to prevent excess back pressure. I'm a machinist/welder fabricator by trade so the machining wont be super difficult.

The other option I've been considering is the newer On3 7875. It will flow the air on the compressor side, but it has a .96 on the exhaust side and according to their site it is supposed to good for larger cubic in engines.

this is a street car so street spoolability is of great value. I don't want to have to wait until second gear for the boost to start rolling in. If I had the budget I would go with either the twin 35r's or twin 61's from On3, but that doesn't look like an option at this time.

Your opinions please. Thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 03-02-2016, 01:05 PM

Trader Feedback: (19)