How much modification is needed when going turbo? - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 07-24-2012, 03:48 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (3)
How much modification is needed when going turbo?

I have a 89 Mustang and I am interested in going turbo. I have been looking at the On3 and the BG kits. My biggest concern is how hard is it to get everyhting to fit. I have a GT convertible that is in very nice condition. If I am going to have to start cutting sections out of my front bumper cover to get the intercooler to fit, or using a hammer to modify shock towers and firewalls I will probably just stick with the same old supercharger route that most take. I like the idea of turbo and that its different than what most are using. If you guys could give me an idea of how these kits fit and what problem you have had while installing the I would appreciate it. I am new to the whole turbo thing but have had superchargers in the past. Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 07-24-2012, 05:11 PM

just call the manufacture and ask them directly. Thats what I did with my bg kit several years ago and I got exactly what I asked for.

BOSS 331, GT4276, High Ports, Manual Trans w/RXT twin disc
post #3 of 18 Old 07-25-2012, 10:03 AM

Trader Feedback: (11)
The only real fabrication/cutting that I had to do with my On3 kit was with the front fascia to get the intercooler to fit. My car is an LX, however. And there looks to be a ton more room in a GT bumper. Even more so if you don't have A/C like I do.

1989 5.0 T5 LX Hatch - Explorer Short Block with an FMS F-303 cam, TFS TW170 heads, Tmoss Ported Cobra Intake, an On3 Turbo Kit with a 67mm Ceramic Ball Bearing Turbo, and backed by a T56 Magnum 6spd with 3.55's
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 18 Old 07-25-2012, 12:38 PM

Trader Feedback: (5)
If you dont cheap out it wont be problem!!

You get what you pay for.