What mufflers to use - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 09-10-2011, 04:58 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (8)
Garage
What mufflers to use

I just ordered the ON3 67turbo for a 88 GT. My exhaust is H-pipe and Flowmaster 2 1/2. Do I have to change mufflers if yes what mufflers should I get. I would like to keep the same sound as the Flowmasters.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-10-2011, 08:19 PM

Trader Feedback: (0)
you can buy the on3 y-pipe and use the current flowmasters

or run a single exhaust from the down pipe with one muffler

from what guys say on here a straigt through muffler is going to out perform a flowmaster or chambered muffler, but they can be ran, just turn the knob up if you need more power.
I have a friend running flowmaster knock offs on his turbo 514 without problems

Current: 04 Gt, sonic blue, 3.73s, 2.5" custom o/r exhaust, diablo tune, cai.

Sold: 90lx, stock short block & cam, TFS 170's, 1.72rr, typhoon intake, on3 kit 70mm, AOD, 4.10 gear, cobra 39s, C&L maf, stock tune, 11psi boost
post #3 of 9 Old 09-11-2011, 02:06 AM
Corral Elite Member

Trader Feedback: (14)
I read somewhere that the chambered muffler created a resonance wave that can cause havoc on the turbine wheel... BS maybe.. I think it was a at a turbonetics turbo conference back in 2001..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 09-11-2011, 11:04 PM

Trader Feedback: (6)
im running dynomax ultra flows
post #5 of 9 Old 09-11-2011, 11:56 PM

Ultra flows here too. Super quiet with the turbo.
post #6 of 9 Old 09-12-2011, 05:01 AM