A few misc. turbo questions - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 03-27-2011, 06:02 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (9)
A few misc. turbo questions

Hey guys, been doing lots of reading and trying to learn, I have a few miscellaneous questions. Here's a quick rundown of my car:

Dart 347, 420rwhp NA, 11:1 CR (will be switching to E85 for boost), want a blowthrough since its carb'd. Right now I have this Holley HP150 fuel pump, -8AN feed line, deadheaded into a Holley regulator. Will I need to change pumps and regulator?

Also, I have a 2 1/2" Flowmaster catback right now, how badly will that hurt me if I keep it with a y-pipe setup? Ive read that chambered mufflers can rob ALOT of power?

One of the kits I'm looking at uses 1 5/8" primary headers, right now I have 1 3/4" longtubes. Will those 1 5/8" hurt me on the turbo setup?

When talking about turbo kit, what is the general thought on mixing and matching parts? What I mean is, I'm looking at the On3 kit but I would want a 3.5" downpipe which I'm told isnt an option on the 8.2" kits. Would I be able to buy a different brand and have it bolt up, or am I better having one fabbed up?

Lastly (for now), when discussing the difference between a wastegate and a blowoff valve, and what do they do, a wastegate will bypass the air that exceeds the boost level and a blowoff valve releases the pressurized air that is in the system after the throttle blades close?

Thanks for the help-Dan

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 03-28-2011, 10:35 AM

Trader Feedback: (25)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadAss88GT View Post
Hey guys, been doing lots of reading and trying to learn, I have a few miscellaneous questions. Here's a quick rundown of my car: