Mustang AutoX - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 12-05-2005, 10:16 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Mustang AutoX

Im pretty new to the whole Road Racing and AutoX stuff...I've only competed once but I go out to the AutoX events quite often with one of my friends in his EVO VIII. I have a 2002 Mustang GT, Supercharged, and the motor will be rebuilt by March. I have a really stiff suspension and bigger brake calipers. My question is whats the best suspension setup/tires to run with on AutoX, I have Nitto NT555R's but I would prefer to not use those for AutoX becuase they are kind of expensive...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 12-05-2005, 10:31 AM

Just go drive. You will learn what needs to be "fixed" as you progress as a driver.

Tires make all the difference in the world. If you want to be competitive, don't be concerned with cost. It's impossible to avoid. Just part of the game.

2000 GT Current Auto-X mule/Daily Driver

Quote: "5.0Torx"

Cheap
Fast
Reliable

Pick 2...
post #3 of 15 Old 12-05-2005, 11:44 AM

With a supercharged mustang you'l have a lot of difficulty being competititve as the rules put you in Sm2 with corvettes and other excellent handling cars.

Im not really competitive in SM either but I do it for the fun and compete against myself.

I have a 95supercharged V6 I have been autocrossing for one season.

1) Tires make all the difference. I have 265 35 18's in the front and 305 30 18's in the back.Kumho v700's

2) Brakes are very important. Hawk brake pads can help a lot. The better you stop the later you can brake

3) Gearing is important for your supercharger. You want to be able to spool it up. Most autocrosing is done at lower speeds and 4.10 gears can help ya get into boost faster.