Does exhaust matter? - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 06-30-2011, 08:26 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (4)
Does exhaust matter?

I am in the process of putting the car back together and was wondering should I go with headers on it. It will see some track time as in road course but not really drag racing. It is a 96 Cobra. Should I go with the stock manifolds for the road racing or long tubes or JBA shorties for it. I am just getting into the road racing. I am going with Maximum Motorsports suspension on it.

96 Cobra, Hooker LT's & off road x, worked heads, boral mufflers,3:73's,H&R race springs. SCT Tune
96 Tangerine GTS, 03 4V Avaitor Motor, H&R Race springs,Tokico adjustables, 2 Chamber flowmaster, Steeda Tri-Axe, SCT Custom Tune, SOLD
01 Zinc Yellow, auto, "THE WIFES CAR" SOLD
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 07-01-2011, 05:48 PM

Trader Feedback: (1)
Headers work the same whether you're drag or road racing. Their compromises are the same too. My personal belief is that long tubes are definately better but typically not worth the investment or hassle of install (some are harder to install than others, some brands are more expensive than others too) over shorties unless the rest of the engine is maximized for power and at specific RPMs where LTs give a more distinct advantage.

Stock manifolds were always designed as a compromise, the biggest problem is that the engineers who designed them needed them to be installed easily by an automated machine, thus they tend to be pinched off a bit where they meet the head. Many times they are also made of cast iron instead of other materials such as stainless steel also, making them heavier. I'm not well versed in the 4V engines and their manifolds so take my statement with a grain of salt.

Last edited by MJ91GT; 07-01-2011 at 05:57 PM.
post #3 of 5 Old 07-02-2011, 09:53 PM

Trader Feedback: (2)