Safety gear recommendations? - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 03-22-2011, 08:27 AM Thread Starter
CSG

Trader Feedback: (18)
Safety gear recommendations?

I am looking for opinions on helmets, suits, Hans, etc.

I plan to purchase a SA2010 helmet. I have only used offroad helmets in the past. Does everyone like the normal full face helmets with a face shield? I wonder if I will miss having a visor when the sun starts going down????

Suit has to be minimum sfa3.2a. As far as comfort goes what should I get here?

I have no experience with a HANS. have to have SFI38.1, any suggestions?

Thanks, Scott

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 03-22-2011, 12:19 PM

Trader Feedback: (12)
Full face with visor... just put it up if you don't like it down. Fire, etc, nice to have face protection. Also good if in accident and have broken glass flying...

Race suit - don't go cheap or you'll hate wearing it from the heat. I bought a LICO brand, it's a nice suit but too thick, toohot. Think wearing oven mitt. I still wear it in the winter some. Sprung for the $$$ 3 layer lightweight suit. Should have bought the nice suit first and saved the $300...

HANS or Defnder.. I use the latter now. The ISAAC is a nice piece too, but not certified last I checked. I had one, sold it when I started W2W racing.

post #3 of 16 Old 03-22-2011, 11:52 PM

Trader Feedback: (3)