4 lug disc brake swap questions. - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 01-30-2011, 10:42 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
4 lug disc brake swap questions.

Hey sorry if i posted this in the wronge forum but it seemed like it fit in here lol.... but i have an 89 gt, and im always looking to spend as little money as possible (im an auto student so my car's high on my priority list) so i want disc brakes as cheap as possible.... ive seen the kits that are like 600 i was jw if theres a way to use lincoln or sn95 junkyard parts with just a 93 cobra rotor so i can keep the four lugs. Anyone have any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-30-2011, 11:14 AM

Trader Feedback: (9)
http://home.comcast.net/~mjbobbitt/mustang/page1.html

That site will tell you everything you need to know.

Also, ditch the four lug stuff. For crazy cheap, you can get 5-lug SN95 stuff. SN95 Wheels are cheap too.

post #3 of 5 Old 02-04-2011, 10:37 AM

Trader Feedback: (11)
The 4-lug rotors will only work with the Fox spindles, and SN95 calipers won't bolt to the Fox spindles.

Not sure what Lincoln you're referring to, as there are lots of Lincoln models out there. The Mark VII front brakes were the same as the Mustang GT, just used a larger piston in the caliper. There's little to be gained there since it's still an old caliper design and a small rotor.

As aurdaco said, do yourself a favor and start budgeting for an SN95 swap. It's not that expensive to do, and it opens up sooooo many more options for upgrades in the future.

'89 GT convertible, N/A 357W, MM front susp w/425# coil-overs and Koni D/As, MM TA/PB rear setup (Koni Yellows, 390-430# springs), Stoptech 332mm / 12" Baers, MM 6 point rollbar, Maier 1.5" flared fenders & quarters, 18x9.5" front/18x10.5" rear Enkei RPF-1s (street), 18x10" CCW C-10s (track), etc...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 5 Old 02-18-2011, 05:13 PM