Solo 2 classing help... - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 12-06-2010, 10:12 AM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (3)
Solo 2 classing help...

I am relatively new to autocrossing and I am trying to figure out what class I should be in.

99 Cobra:

Catted X pipe
Flowmaster catback
MGW shifter
Cold Air Intake
Tune
4.56 gears
R comp tires (stock size) or street tires (stock size front, 275/40 rear)

I was thinking ESP but I think I may have shot myself in the foot with the gears. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

Regards,
Robert

1999 Cobra - Minor tweekage...

92 LX Vert. - Vortech, 3.73's, MGW shifter, FMS shorties, Ultra-flo catback, SF connectors, STB brace. $FOR SALE$
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 12-06-2010, 11:11 AM
Authorized corral.net Advertiser

Trader Feedback: (4)
Yeah, the gears bump you to SM or CP.

To be legal in ESP, the gear ratio needs to be something that was offered OEM on a car on the same line in the rule book as yours.

Of course, this post will be followed by 7 pages of bitching about rules and how much SCCA sucks, so I stipulate in advance that I agree with that to save the electrons.

HTH,

DaveW

post #3 of 10 Old 12-06-2010, 05:20 PM

Trader Feedback: (1)
Yup... Make the gears go bye-bye and you are easily within ESP. 4.56 is too deep for autox anyway. 3.55 is a good all around ratio, and ESP legal too.

Sam Strano
7x SCCA National Champion + 7x SCCA ProSolo Class Champion, 2009 SCCA ProSolo Overall Champion
I drive them, I compete in them, I sell more variety of brands than any other company.
STRANOPARTS.COM
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 12-06-2010, 11:13 PM Thread Starter

Those gears are not coming out. Besides, I found them to be quite useable at the last event.

92 LX Vert. - Vortech, 3.73's, MGW shifter, FMS shorties, Ultra-flo catback, SF connectors, STB brace. $FOR SALE$
post #5 of 10 Old 12-07-2010, 10:34 AM

Quote: