am i forgetting something - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 11-14-2010, 03:46 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
am i forgetting something

i am not really new to racing either drag or AutoX/HPDE, but i am new to the RWD of a fox body. I'd like to take the car to another level with upgrading the suspension a bit. but from the research i've done, there is quite a bit of supporting mods that are neccessary in order to achieve the results i want.
so here goes a list of the parts (not brands or prices) i think i will need to complete the car how i want it. what i want to know is: am i missing something? have i not considered an important fitment issue?

what i have is a 1983 Mustang GT with all factory front suspension, and only Lakewood control arms in the back.
im looking to install:
tubular k-member w/ 5.0 mount plates and factory rack height
tubular a-arms - 13"
-both with spherical rod ends
coilover conversion kit
94-95 GT spindles and ball joints/tie rods
99-04 cobra front brakes, performance pads and rotors.
braided brake lines
Foxbody Caster/Camber plates
Griggs in floor subframes
some form of 5 lug wheel

i believe i have the rear taken care of with a 5 lug disc swap.

thats all i can think of for the front. but i also have a few other considerations.
would a drop spindle be better suited to correct the geometry than drop springs? what spring rate should i consider for road race conditions?

links are apprecited
thanks for the help guys

Last edited by 83fox50; 11-14-2010 at 11:08 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 11-15-2010, 08:11 PM

Trader Feedback: (9)
Any rear suspension which does not ditch at least one of the UCAs is a waste of time. Preferably, you ditch both of them. PHB + TA is a proven combination. If you want to get really exotic, research the "decoupled torque arm" via corner carvers.