NooB Autocross Question going back out sunday. - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 10-02-2010, 10:47 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (98)
NooB Autocross Question going back out sunday.

I have tire pressure question. I am new to auto crossing. I went last week and again today. I plan on going out Sunday also Here is my question i am running 38psi front 35 psi rear. This is because on the scca web site states that lower tire pressure can cause the tire to seperate from the wheel. In running two days i show outside edge wear on both fronts (understeer) with the drivers side being the worst. The car has quite a bit of neg camber. -3deg i would suspect.

So here is my question can i use 33-35psi front 28-32psi rear safely???

I will say you auto-Xers are on to something. This stuff is a BLAST!!!
I might just give up drag racing for a year or two!!!

thanks for any help you can give me!!!

Ford trained, CNG Cummins bus mechanic.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 10-02-2010, 11:56 PM

Trader Feedback: (9)
Short version: yes. IME, you can auto-x safely with air pressure in the low 20s, but not that you'd want to. 36 front, 32 rear is a common starting point, but I've done 32 front and 28 rear before. With R comps, I think I have done 26 front and 22 rear. Their warning probably pertains to cars with tires that have 60+ series sidewalls.