Tips for minimizing under-steer - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 04-26-2009, 08:39 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (0)
Tips for minimizing under-steer

Looking for tuning tips to help minimize our beloved Mustang's under-steer. I know by me running off-set tires it adds to this but I am sure I can do other things before I ditch the big ole 18x9 and 18x10's. I mean they just look so damn good on the car.

I have softened up the front struts and that helped a bit but throughout most of my runs the front tires scream for mercy. The car actually feels pretty good but it takes a bit more "persuasion" on my part to get the car to go where I want it to in tight corners. I have almost every suspension mod allowed for ESP except sway bars. I'm still running the stock bars and bushings. I'm pretty new to autocross but I can tell from what experience I have that the pushing going into corners does hurt my times.

'99 SVT Cobra #2085 -- MAC Cat-Back, MAC O/R H, C&L Intake, Steeda UDPs, FRPP 4.10s, B&M Pro Ripper Shifter, UPR Clutch Quadrant/Adjuster, Hawk HPS Pads, Brembo Drilled/Slotted Rotors, Too Much Suspension Stuff to List, Custom Tuned by Tillman Speed -- 306 whp/301 wtq
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 04-27-2009, 10:13 AM
MFE
Super Moderator

Trader Feedback: (9)
I don't see any c/c plates on your list and you don't say anything about your camber or caster settings. Slow down more on corner entry and wait longer to get on the gas.

post #3 of 26 Old 04-27-2009, 10:28 AM

Besides alignment, throttle control is key. Most folks whether on a big track or small go into the slow corners too fast. I don't know your experience so maybe I'm not saying anything new, but enter slower then use throttle control to get thru with minimal push.
Or maybe put the 10 inchers in the front. LOL

'13 GT coupe w/ Track Pack, '87 GT vert w/ a few mods, '16 Mazda 6 for the wife
Sponsored Links