brake upgrades on tight budget - Ford Mustang Forums : Corral.net Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 03-30-2009, 09:45 PM Thread Starter

Trader Feedback: (2)
brake upgrades on tight budget

Here is my problem. I want/need to upgrade my brakes. Right now I have stockers with MM stainless lines and supposes race?? pads on the front (this is what is was told but have not pulled a wheel to verify yet). I am kinda tight on funds this year and would like to keep my 4 lug wheels as I have a set of 31 spline axles and the diff needs to be re-built anyways. So what are some cars that I can possible pilfer a rear disc set up off of? Sorry if this a newb question, I am new to Stangs and to trying to make cars handle (other than in a straight line). I need to do this as cheaply as possible for now. Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old 03-30-2009, 11:00 PM

Trader Feedback: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD1969 View Post
Here is my problem. I want/need to upgrade my brakes. Right now I have stockers with MM stainless lines and supposes race?? pads on the front (this is what is was told but have not pulled a wheel to verify yet). I am kinda tight on funds this year and would like to keep my 4 lug wheels as I have a set of 31 spline axles and the diff needs to be re-built anyways. So what are some cars that I can possible pilfer a rear disc set up off of? Sorry if this a newb question, I am new to Stangs and to trying to make cars handle (other than in a straight line). I need to do this as cheaply as possible for now. Thanks in advance.
Save your money and stay with the rear drum brakes (for now.) The factory suspension has so much front dive and rear-end lift that it can't really allow the rear brakes to do much work, regardless of whether they're drums or discs.